…makes me wanna…

A friend of mine came to me last night and our conversation went again to my reading list and how much it contained books about writing. He is not pleased with it at all that I keep reading them instead of using my intuition to write. Ok, the topic is old to us already and I do feel that the time of studying would be over for me soon again and I would like to put it back in practice.

But he got ahead of me. Bluntly put, he blurted that he’d make a bet with me that I should write a book, send it to publishers and get one “yes” from at least one of them before the year is up. Oddly the idea had enough merit and now I’m doing it.

Give me few hours to get to the bottom of my promise now. I’m slightly shell shocked at this point that I even did it, but done it is – by the 1st of July, 2012 I’m to write a 100k words long book and get approval letter from whatever editor. If I win – he’ll buy me coffee. If I lose, I buy him coffee.

Why not? Time to put my studies in practice :).

Our bet agreement

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Aside from that I did a little research on the odd flip of mind that I had few days ago. It’s based on a comment I happened on at Amazon. It stated that the person, who had written the book about helping you to write better books hasn’t written more than one published book themselves. Odd as it sounded, I decided to check it out.

It’s the part of research I think everybody hoping to gain knowledge from those books should take up, because the revelation was surprising. The old saying “who can’t do, those teach” found its way back to my daily use again. Apparently there are quite a number of writers out there that have written two or three books in their lives- one or two novels and then the how-to book on their experience as writing it.

Say what?

I haven’t got published yet, but have written a number of manuscript that are ready for editing and edited at least one to send it out. And did it. Though with no response. Do I qualify?

The problem wouldn’t be so touchy if the books those one-novel-miracles write on helping you write wouldn’t be so bad themselves. There are number of books that are helpful too, so I won’t put any names in the Bad List, because one way or the other they all help, but there is a huge pile of junk behind my book shelf, too.

It was just slightly irritating, considering that I do want to get better at what I do and do wish to have my own written novel in my hands one day and realize that all I have for help are those, who aren’t in much better state either.

Thankfully there are books among even them that help you far pass your own problems and do offer solutions to try out. Not to mention that those writers have published more than two good novels, too. Can’t really say that it’s a good measuring post, the two novel line, as I’m sure there’s a list of those authors, who give out in monster lists, yet aren’t that good. But those tend to press on in their novel writing work rather than teach how to do it.

Which reminds me again – put the books down and do some actual writing again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book in a Year bet

Leave a Reply

