Blooming bookstand

I fear if I’d start listing those books up, it would take entire day. It’s not like I wouldn’t mind naming them. I’ve got some good books there. It’s just that it isn’t really a nightstand – though it used to be some years back – it’s a full size from floor boards to foam-plated ceiling high bookshelf.

It was nice and small when I first got it, but then I started buying books one or two per month and suddenly there was no room left. So my father suggested upgrading – a full size bookshelf all to my own, saved from renovating our living room that used to be like tiny library itself. Naturally that meant that half a shelf is still filled with their old stuff, but this comes with the territory I guess.

In our family there has always been understanding that if you buy a book, it should be something you can glance more than once, in other words a book that has educational value of any kind. Fiction you can always borrow from libraries. It still rings true in my heart even now and thus the only fictional books on the six level shelves are children books. From more beloved names you might recognize Astrid Lindgren, Tove Jannson (some read Dickens for Christmas – we read Moomin) , Vahtang Ananjan, Edgar Valter,  Annie M.G.Schmidt, S.Lagerlöf, G.Simenon, Alan Alexander Milne, Robert Vaidlo, James Fenimore Cooper, Karl May (close to shreads), Alexander Duma, F. Molnar, Jules Verne… We had the series here called Adventure Stories from Land and the Sea containing every good classic adventure story out there that either my parents or my grandmother owned, so some of them are still there, ready to be reread again and again.  Additionally you can find few collections of fairy tales and folktales, too.

The old part of the shelves, the original cupboard contains papers – any kind of paper that doesn’t have a purpose so far. They used to be all over the room, so I gathered them in one place. On top of it stands a gift from my mother and father for Christmas, lovely glass trays. I got identical set with my sister with only red or green ribbons to know which was which. Those stayed there, because I’m still waiting for that wonderful time when I finally get to hold big party where they will be needed. My sister hasn’t taken away hers because of her baby – that girl has very long hands and she knows how to finish every meal with a bang, like a proper lady!

The rest is under cook books, because I cook a lot, ornithology and anything related to flora, dictionaries and some math books, yoga and tons of odd titled books that are fancy to look at, but which language I can’t read. I honestly don’t know why they still remain. Pretty pictures?

On the upmost shelf lies my father’s greatest treasure – his vinyl collection of Pink Floyd and Queen and other his favorites from times before we were born. Before, because I was creative enough in my early age to recognize the value of needles and how wonderful pictures I could draw scratching them on the wondrous black surface. The newer records he didn’t manage to hide fast enough were used for canvas and my artistic talent was discovered.

There is only one photo on these shelves. Reading often how people have pictures of their family members on their nightstand, I feel like the odd one out. It’s nice to know though that I’m not alone. The only photo I have here is my grandpa, holding his two great-grandchildren. His name is Johannes and the two babies he’s holding are named Johanna and Johannes. He is a huge man and this photo of him in the evening light proudly holding those two is out of all my utmost favorite.

And this is where this nightstand reaches its capacity.  It might not be the typical books on a small table, but it holds more than just papers glad between cardboards. Things that mean something to me or my family. Things like that single photo of my grandfather or the crystal still waiting for my sister.

* * *

Today’s post is my response to the prompt What books are your nightstand?, this month’s topic for the Merry-Go-Round Blog Tour. Throughout the month, you can get to know twenty (or so) other writers from various genres and backgrounds and at various places in their careers.

Next stop on the tour is Tiberius Clausewitz Drusus Nero Germanicus on July 21st, 2011.

1 Comment

Filed under Merry-Go-Round Blog Tour

One response to “Blooming bookstand

  1. My life would be rather poor without the fiction books I have in the house, I fear. And libraries change out fiction so often, I would have long ago lost many of my favorite books.

    So in my house, fiction and nonfiction have their places.

    I am amused by your bedroom bookcase. To the right of my bed is a floor to ceiling case we built there, filled with mostly science fiction and fantasy, both hard cover and paperback, and all the rows at least two deep. Sometimes grabbing a book from there before sleep is great fun. Other times, it’s enough just to rest in bed and look at the titles and remember all the great stories.

    We live in a great age where we can have such gifts right at our fingertips.

Leave a Reply

